Click to Go Back to search resultsBack to search results
Bridget St. John - BBC Radio 1968-1976 (...
Photo contributed by #M#.This product photo was contributed by the community member attributed here.
Product description:Full product description
Fans of singer, songwriter, and Brit-folk chanteuse Bridget St. John will no doubt be delighted by this double-disc, 41-cut selection of her BBC recordings with John Peel and ...Read more
PriceAU $26.65
+AU $1.77 postage
Buy It NowBuy It NowBuy It Now
BBC Radio 1968-1976
  • Great deal from an eBay highly rated seller
    This item appears here because it is the lowest priced, Buy It Now item from a highly rated seller.
Condition:Brand new
Location:United Kingdom
Returns:acceptedSee details
Payments:PayPalSee details
AuctionTime: ending soonestBuy it nowPrice + Postage: lowest first
There are no "Brand New: Auction" listings for this product at this time.
     See all "Brand New: Buy it Now"

    Product description

    Track Listing
    1. I Don't Know If I Can Take It
    2. Some Kind of Beautiful
    3. Jumblequeen
    4. Fly High
    6. Want to Be with You
    7. Curious and Wooly
    7. Curious and Woolly
    8. Head and Heart
    9. Long Long Time
    10. Come Up and See Me Sometime
    11. Catch a Falling Star
    12. Love Lie Easy
    13. The River
    14. Song to Keep You Company
    15. Night in the Ciy
    15. Night in the City
    16. Lazarus
    17. Curl Your Toes
    18. Thank You For...
    18. Thank You For

    1. Sparrowpit
    2. Nancy Alice
    3. Plain and Pearl
    4. Make Me Whole
    5. She Used to Play Harmonium
    6. Crazy, Have You Eton
    7. Peel "Sleeping" Anecdote
    8. Bumpber to Bumper
    8. Bumper to Bumper
    9. Leaves of Lime
    10. City Crazy
    11. The Pebble and the Man
    12. Back to Stay
    13. Song for the Laird of Connaught Hall, Pt. 2
    14. Jolie Madame
    15. The Spider and the Fly
    16. The Oyster and the Flying Fish
    17. To B Without a Hitch
    18. Ask Me No Questions
    19. Many Happy Returns
    20. Hello Again (Of Course)
    21. Rochefort
    22. Lizard Long Tongue Boy
    22. Lizard-Long-Tongue Boy
    23. The Present Song/Pig & Peel

    Number of CDs:2
    Recording Type:Mixed
    Recording Mode:Stereo

    Album Notes
    Fans of singer, songwriter, and Brit-folk chanteuse Bridget St. John will no doubt be delighted by this double-disc, 41-cut selection of her BBC recordings with John Peel and other DJs from the late '60s through the mid-'70s. Peel was hosting Top Gear at this time, and took over the network’s Night Ride program from producer John Muir in 1968. St. John appeared on Night Ride first and that initial off-air rehearsal performance is here, near the end of disc two at her insistence, though its audio quality is not as high as most on this handsome package. The songs she chose for this performance are quite telling: “To Be Without a Hitch,” “Ask Me No Questions,” "Rochefort,” and “Lizard Long Tongue Boy,” to mention a few. This set is not arranged chronologically, which may piss off a few hardcore collectors and bibliophiles, but that’s what remote controls and multi-disc changers are for. It is arranged aesthetically -- the material on disc one is nearly flawlessly reproduced, while disc two has some rougher live spots (that do not take away from the performances). The package, with copious liner notes and an interview with St. John, has been wonderfully compiled and sequenced by Hux with the full cooperation of the artist and was beautifully remastered by Ron Geesin, who appears as a sideman on many of these sessions, as do Mike Oldfield, Bernie Marsden, and David Bedford. St. John was one of the first artists signed to Peel's Dandelion Records imprint, and some of the tunes she recorded on her five albums were previewed either in these BBC sessions for Night Ride, Top Gear, or the terrific Radio 1 in Concert series.St. John’s performances of her own songs are complemented richly by covers of Buffy Sainte-Marie's “Lazarus,” Joni Mitchell's “Night in the City,” and John Martyn's “The River.” Kevin Ayers duets with St. John on three tunes from a Radio 1 in Concert performance in 1971: “Jolie Madame,” “The Spider and the Fly,” and the co-written “Oyster and the Flying Fish.” A collection like this is pretty much for fans only; part of that is the appeal of her voice, which is limited in range in the same way Nick Drake's was. But there was a reason she was a favorite of Peel’s: she was a talented -- if shy songwriter -- who delivered her material with an unintended aura of mystery, ambiguity, and authority that is uncharacteristic for the era, though it has been oft-imitated since. There are other good compilations available for novices culled from her five albums, but for those dedicated fans, this is the holy grail. ~ Thom Jurek

    eBay Product ID: EPID80946028
    Portions of this page Copyright 1948-2014 Muze Inc. and Muze Europe Ltd. All rights reserved.

    Additional site navigation

    Bubble Opens Help Start of layer
    Bubble Help End of layer