Blues at its best Freddie Kings Texas Cannonball album

Views 1 Like Comments Comment
Like if this Guide is helpful

The 1972 Texas Cannonball album is a fine musical statement by one of the greatest blues guitarists and singers Freddie King.

The album is a time capsule to an era where bluesmen were forced to roll with the times or disappear. Freddie King rose to the challenge of the era and produced an album with heavy doses of soul, funk and disco without stepping outside of the blues - the result Texas Cannonball.

The album contains nine tracks:

  1. Lowdown in Lodi
  2. Reconsider Baby
  3. Big Legged Woman
  4. Me and My Guitar
  5. Can't Trust Your Neighbour
  6. You Was Wrong
  7. How Many More Years
  8. Ain't No Sunshine
  9. The Sky Is Crying

It was originally issued on Leon Russell's Shelter label and features the best of Russell's inner sanctum backing up the big man of the blues, including Don Preston, Al Jackson and Donald "Duck" Dunn.

Freddie King voice is amazing and his guitar playing - all I can say is that I have worn threw three copies of this album via jamming along in the hope of picking up some licks from the master.

It goes without saying fans that Freddie's early 60s recordings on the King/Federal label are a must have for blues afficiandoes. However, Texas Cannonball is a great starting point if you think you like the blues but aren't quite sure.

Also check out the Possum CD reissue of this album from 1991 - with 6 bonus tracks its a killer!!

Have something to share, create your own Guide... Write a Guide
Explore more Guides