DVD Regions And Formats Guide (PAL vs NTSC)

Views 14 Likes Comments Comment
Like if this Guide is helpful



DVD regions and formats

DVD regions

There are six world Regions for DVD.

Discs manufactured in one region will usually only play on players that were manufactured in the same region, so discs bought in the Australia will not play on U.S. players and vice versa.

However, the regional coding system is entirely optional and discs without Regional Codes (Region 0) will play on any player in any country.

Please check the list below to make sure our DVDs will be able to play on your DVD machine, as some DVD players are sold as multizone units and can play DVDs from every region. Please check your DVD manual, or with the manufacturer, if in doubt.

Region 1 - Canada, U.S., U.S. Territories.

Region 2 - Albania, Andorra, Austria, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, European Union, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia (the Former Yugoslav Republic), Malta, Moldova, Principality of Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia,South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Kingdom (Channel Islands) Vatican City State, Yemen, Yugoslavia

Region 3 - Southeast Asia, East Asia (including Hong Kong)

Region 4 - Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, Central America, Mexico, South America, Caribbean

Region 5 - Former Soviet Union, Indian Subcontinent, Africa (also North Korea, Mongolia)

Region 6 - China

Region 7 - Reserved

Region 8 - Special international venues (airplanes, cruise ships, etc.)

DVD formats

There are two TV video standards, PAL (Phase Alternating Line) and NTSC (National Television System Committee). NTSC is used mainly in North America, Japan, Mexico and Canada, and PAL is used almost everywhere else in the world including Australia and NZ. NTSC has a resolution of 352 x 240, and PAL has a video resolution of 352 X 288. PAL generates 25 full frames per second with 635 lines per frame while NTSC produces 30 frames a second with 525 scan lines per frame. Due to screen interlacing (in which all the odd lines and then all the even lines of the frame are presented), the vertical scan frequencies for PAL are 50Hz (50 scans per second) and 60Hz for NTSC. This basically means that the NTSC system sacrifices video clarity to minimize flicker, while PAL accepts more flicker to gain an improvement in clarity.

A PAL signal can not be replayed on an NTSC only TV, and conversely an NTSC signal can not be replayed on a PAL only TV. However many current TV’s, DVD & Video Players are both PAL and NTSC compatible and can display both types of video. Please check your TV manual, or with the manufacturer, if in doubt.

Is my Country PAL or NTSC?


The following countries use the PAL standard

Afghanistan          Holland                    Portugal
Albania              Hong Kong                  Qutar
Algeria              Iceland                    Romania
Angola               India                      Singapore
Argentina            Indonesia                  Somalia
Australia            Ireland                    South Africa
Austria              Israel                     S.W. Africa
Azores               Italy                      Spain
Baharain             Jordan                     Sri Lanka
Bangladesh           Kenya                      Sudan 
Belgium              Kuwait                     Swaziland
Botswana             Laos                       Sweden
Brazil               Liberia                    Switzerland
Brunei               Madeire                    Tanzania
Cameroon             Malaysia                   Thailand
Canary Islands       Malta                      Turkey
Cyprus               Mozambique                 Uganda 
Denmark              Nepal                      United Arab Emirates
Dubai                NewGuinea                  United Kingdom
England              New Zealand                Uruguay
Ethiopia             Nigeria                    West Germany 
Faeroe Islands       North Korea                Yemen
Finland              Norway                     Yugoslavia
Ghana                Oman                       Zambia
Gibraltar            Pakistan                   Zimbabwe 
Guinea               Paraguay  
Greenland            Poland  
The following countries use the NTSC standard

Antigua               El Salvador                 Philippines
Bahamas               Ecuador                     Puerto Rico
Barbados              Guam                        Saipan
Barbuda               Guatemala                   Samoa
Belize                Haiti                       South Korea
Bermuda               Honduras                    Saint Kitts
Bolivia               Jamaica                     Saint Lucia
Burma                 Japan                       Saint Vincent
Cambodia              Mexico                      Surinam
Canada                Midway Islands              Taiwan
Cayman Islands        Netherlands Antilles        Tobago
Chile                 Nicaragua                   Trinidad
Colombia              North Mariana Island        United States
Costa Rica            Panama                      Venezuela
Cuba                  Peru                        Virgin Islands

Don't forget to RATE my Guide of course, after your done reading them all :) Thank you!

Have something to share, create your own Guide... Write a Guide
Explore more Guides