Great Australian Children's Series Ranger's Apprentice

Views 8 Likes Comments Comment
Like if this Guide is helpful

If you are looking for a new children's series post HP , especially for boys aged 10 to 13 then this is the one! I have also had quite a few adult  customers both at my store and online rave about this series.

This engrossing series combines fanastic fantasy elements, cliff hanger endings and well developed characters . Books 1 to 4 are currently available in the US with book 5 due out in Nov 08.

Books 1 2 3 4  5 6 and 7 are already released in paperback in Australia (first released in paperback in Australia with a later 2in1 HB edition of books 1 and 2 and a second HB bind-up of books 3 and 4 has just been released ) Books 8  The Kings of Clonmel is due out in Australia  on the 3rd of Nov 2008 and book 9 in Nov 2009. I expect to get stock of this title in just before the release date


The main character  is a orphan  boy called Will who has been raised as a castle ward who find's himself apprenticed to a mysterious ranger, Halt

Books in the series

book 1 The Ruins of Gorlan

Will must prove himself as he comes of age in this exciting tale of young adults that shows how similar relationships can be, whether good and bad and no matter how different, and more adventurous, the times are

Book 2 The Burning Bridge

The kingdom of Araluen prepares for war against Morgarath, Will and Horace accompany Gilan on a mission to Celtica. But Celtica is silent. It is only when they find a girl called Evanlyn that they learn why.

book 3 The Icebound Land

Will and Evanlyn are bound for Skandia as the captives of the fearsome Skandian wolfship captain, Erak. Halt has sworn to rescue Will, and he will do anything to keep his promise - even defy his King.

book 4 The Oakleaf Bearers (released as The Battle of Skandia in the USA)

As spring approaches and Will and Evanlyn finally escape Skandia, Evanlyn is carried off by mysterious horsemen. Will sets out after them but one boy against six fierce Temujai warriors is impossible odds, even for a Ranger's apprentice.

book 5 The Sorcerer in the North

It is five years since the Skandians and the Araluans made their treaty and Will has finally become a Ranger, with his own fief to look after. He soon learns that even sleepy little island fiefs have enough problems to keep him on his toes

book 6 The Siege of Macindaw

The fierce Scotti tribesmen are waiting for the signal that Castle Macindaw is in friendly hands, and the way is clear to mount an attack. Will's courage and ingenuity, and the arrival of an old friend, may be the all that stand in their way.

book 7 Erak's Ransom

When Erak, the Skandian Oberjarl, is taken hostage during a raid on the desert lands to the south of the Constant Sea, his second-in-command, Svengal, is sent to bring back a ransom for Erak's release.
Halt and Will must go with Svengal to deliver the ransom and secure Erak's freedom, but a royal presence is needed too. The Princess Cassandra - or Evanlyn, as Will knows her - persuades her father to let her go with them. Horace and the Ranger Gilan round out the group to make sure that Evanlyn is well protected. But will violent sandstorms, warring tribes and danger at every turn keep them from reaching Erak in time?

Books 1 to 6 are now on the NSW Premier's Reading Challenge for years 7-9

for a great range of titles from this series including first Australian printings of books 2  5 6 and 7 please visit



Have something to share, create your own Guide... Write a Guide