The Trixie Belden Series

Views 18 Likes Comments Comment
Like if this Guide is helpful
Thirty-nine Trixie Belden books were published between 1948 and 1986. The first six books were written by Julie Campbell, with the rest of the series written by various authors under the pseudonym Kathryn Kenny. Trixie Belden was one of the most successful children's mystery series ever published, and one of our very popular selling series today.
While Random house have reprinted the first fifteen books in hardcover between 2002 and 2005, the majority of the books are still out of print. There were quite a few different editions of the books, which we have briefly outlined.

First Editions Whitman

Only the first three books in the series were published cloth bound with a dustjacket, published by Whitman between 1948 and 1951.

Whitman 'Cello" Editions

Books one to ten were published by Whitman in what is known as 'Cello' editions (laminated hardcovers) with books three to ten first published in this format.

Whitman Cameo Hardcovers

Books one through to thirteen were published in the cameo hardcovers, with books ten to thirteen first published in this edition, named 'Cameo' for the small cameo picture of Trixie on the front cover.

Deluxe Editions

Published by both Whitman and Golden Press, books one through to fifteen were published in this 'Deluxe' edition, with books fourteen and fifteen first published in this edition. They have pictorial cloth boards with full colour pictorial end-papers and some colour illustrations.

Whitman 1970's Hardcovers

Probably the least popular of all the editions, largely due to the art work, these editions were published by Whitman in the 1970's. Books one through to sixteen were published, with books sixteen first published in this edition

Oval 'Cameo" Paperbacks

Books one through to thirty-four, published by Golden press, with books seventeen to thirty-four first published in this edition. These are probably the most popular of the editions, as it is possible to get nearly a full set in matching covers, and had a large print run so most collectors would remember this series from their childhood. There were also 'Goldencraft' hardcovers with the exact same artwork published for schools and libraries.

The two Mystery Quiz Books were also published in this series.

Golden Press 'Square Cover' Paperbacks

Apparently only twenty-four of the thirty-nine books in the series were published in this format by Golden Books from 1984 to 1986. Books thirty-five to thirty-nine were only published in this format and are first editions, with a short print run. We are often asked if thirty-five to thirty-nine were published in the cameo paperbacks, they were not. They cameo covers were out-of-print when this edition was published. They are quite difficult to find and will sell from $50 up to $150 for the last title.

Series List and Publishing Dates

   1. The Secret of the Mansion (1948)
   2. The Red Trailer Mystery (1950)
   3. The Gatehouse Mystery (1951)
   4. The Mysterious Visitor (1954)
   5. The Mystery Off Glen Road (1956)
   6. The Mystery in Arizona (1958)
   7. The Mysterious Code (1961)
   8. The Black Jacket Mystery (1961)
   9. The Happy Valley Mystery (1962)
  10. The Marshland Mystery (1962)
  11. The Mystery at Bob-White Cave (1963)
  12. The Mystery of the Blinking Eye (1963)
  13. The Mystery on Cobbett's Island (1964)
  14. The Mystery of the Emeralds (1965)
  15. The Mystery on the Mississippi (1965)
  16. The Mystery of the Missing Heiress (1970)
  17. The Mystery of the Uninvited Guest (1977)
  18. The Mystery of the Phantom Grasshopper (1977)
  19. The Secret of the Unseen Treasure (1977)
  20. The Mystery off Old Telegraph Road (1978)
  21. The Mystery of the Castaway Children (1978)
  22. The Mystery on Mead's Mountain (1978)
  23. The Mystery of the Queen's Necklace (1979)
  24. The Mystery at Saratoga (1979)
  25. The Sasquatch Mystery (1979)
  26. The Mystery of the Headless Horseman (1979)
  27. The Mystery of the Ghostly Galleon (1979)
  28. The Hudson River Mystery (1979)
  29. The Mystery of the Velvet Gown (1980)
  30. The Mystery of the Midnight Marauder (1980)
  31. The Mystery at Maypenny's (1980)
  32. The Mystery of the Whispering Witch (1980)
  33. The Mystery of the Vanishing Victim (1980)
  34. The Mystery of the Missing Millionaire (1980)
  35. The Mystery of the Memorial Day Fire (1984)
  36. The Mystery of the Antique Doll (1984)
  37. The Pet Show Mystery (1985)
  38. The Indian Burial Ground Mystery (1985)
  39. The Mystery of the Galloping Ghost (1986)

We hope you have found this guide helpful for your collecting :) If you have any questions just contact us, or you can visit our eBay store for Trixie Belden Books

Have something to share, create your own Guide... Write a Guide
Explore more Guides