Land Cruiser Passenger Vehicles

Land Cruiser Passenger Vehicles

One of the best-selling four-wheel drive vehicles in Australia, the Toyota Land Cruiser first appeared here in 1957. It is considered to be both a full-size sports utility vehicle and off-road vehicle. In addition to four-wheel drive, less-expensive models are available with front-wheel drive. Most Land Cruisers seat five passengers although some have the ability to carry as many as eight people at one time. Most units are four- or five-door models, although some three-door wagons have been built as well.

What are some features of the Land Cruiser V8?

The first Land Cruiser with a V8 engine made its debut in 2007. That model, the J70, also known as the 70 Series Land Cruiser, features the first turbodiesel engine made for Toyota. It features a 4.5-litre 202 hp engine and comes with either a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic transmission.

What is the Land Cruiser Prado?

In production since 1990, the Land Cruiser Prado has been upgraded through four generations:

  • J70
  • J90
  • J120
  • J150

Depending on the model year, it comes with anywhere from a 2.4-litre 95 hp inline-four petrol or diesel engine and a five-speed manual transmission to a 2.7-litre 160 hp inline-four petrol engine, 3.0-litre 105 hp inline-four diesel engine, 3.0-litre 172 hp inline-four turbodiesel engine or 4.0-litre 236 hp V6 engine. Transmission options range from four- to six-speed automatics and five- or six-speed manual transmissions. The Land Cruiser Prado is available with either front-wheel drive or four-wheel drive tractions and with either three or five doors.

Is the Land Cruiser 100 still being made?

The Toyota Land Cruiser 100 was made available in Australia from 1998 to 2007 and in two styles. The HDJ100 is a 4.2-litre 201 hp turbodiesel inline-six vehicle while the UZJ100 is a 4.7-litre 228 hp petrol V8 vehicle. Both the Land Cruiser V8 and V6 models are four-door models that seat five people comfortably with room for more. Each model is available with a five-speed manual transmission or a four- or five-speed automatic transmission and is available as either front-wheel drive or four-wheel drive.