Tennis Balls

To the beginner, all tennis balls may look the same, but as knowledge of the game increases, you soon realise there are multiple distinctions between the various types. There are three quality levels of tennis balls: recreational, championship and professional level. Once you have the correct ball, you are ready to hit the courts and start the match.

Pressurised or Pressureless

Beginners benefit more from the pressureless balls, due to the fact the bounce comes from the rubber shell structure and not from the air inside of the ball. They are less likely to lose their balance than pressurised tennis balls. For tournament play, pressurised balls are more common because of the internal air pressure. which offers greater balance, spin, and speed. The downside is it typically only has a lifespan of one match.

Branded or Unbranded

When it comes to tennis equipment, you have the option of choosing branded or unbranded tennis balls. The International Tennis Federation currently approves over 200 different brands for tournament use, but there is no regulation on the balls for practice or recreational use. It comes down to a matter of personal preference.

Regular or Extra Duty

Athletes who play on indoor or clay courts are good to go with regular duty tennis balls. However, if you play on hard courts, you're better off to go with the extra duty balls. The main difference between the two types is the thickness of the felt and its ability to hold up on more demanding hard surfaces.

Kids and Beginners

There are three stages of beginner tennis balls. Stage 3 balls are red in colour and help build skills and develop proper movement. Stage two are orange coloured and reduce the flight of the ball in order to slow the game down. The last stage is stage 1, the green ball, which features a lower bounce to help newcomers learn proper techniques.