2 min article

Closing your account

If you close your eBay account, you'll no longer be able to sell on the site or access My eBay. You'll also lose your Feedback, as well as your purchase and sales history.

If you want to close your account because you've decided to stop selling, you can do that and still leave your account active – simply remove your automatic payment method and cancel your selling tool subscriptions.

If you still want to close your account, make sure:

  • All your fees are paid and your account balance is zero
  • You've resolved any suspensions or restrictions
  • You don't have open bids on an item

If your account doesn't meet our minimum seller performance standards, you won't be able to close it. Go to your Seller Dashboard - opens in new window or tab to see what you'll need to do to raise your seller performance.

Tip
Before closing your account, consider contacting us first. We don't want to see you go, and we'll do everything we can to sort out any issues you have.

What you need to know about closing your account

When you submit a request to close your account, we'll send an email to your registered email address and to your eBay Messages within 24 hours letting you know we've received it. Generally, it takes 30 days to close an account from the date we receive a request.

However, if you've bought or sold items in the 30 days prior to submitting your request, we'll keep your account open for 60 days from receiving your request so any outstanding sales or purchases can be completed, and so we can meet our commitments to all buyers and sellers under the eBay Money Back Guarantee.

If you change your mind during the time it takes to close your account, you can contact us and ask to have it reopened.

After the 30-day or 60-day period (depending on whether you've bought or sold in the past 30 days) your account will be permanently closed. When we've closed your account, we'll let you know by sending an email to your registered email address. If you'd like to use eBay again, you'll need to create a new account.

Please contact us for help closing the account of a deceased eBay member.

Close account

Closing your account will result in the closure of all eBay businesses associated with that account which rely on the same identity – for example, the eBay Partner Network (EPN).

Tip
Once you've submitted an account closure request, you won't be able to access your account, or use it to buy or sell on eBay.

Personal data on closed accounts

The right to have your personal data (including personal information) deleted depends on the privacy regulations in place which vary by country and region. The EU General Data Protection Regulation ("GDPR") identifies the right to have your personal data deleted; this right is known as the "right to erasure". At eBay, we extend the right to delete your data to all users regardless of a country or region's regulation.

When you send a request to close your account, your personal data will also be deleted as long as your account is in good standing.

eBay deletes personal data using approved methods such as hashing, pseudonymisation and aggregation. For your part, you'll need to clear cache, cookies and history from each browser you used to sign in to your eBay account. If you downloaded any eBay apps on any of your mobile devices, you'll need to delete those too.

eBay deletes personal data for accounts, but will retain personal data necessary to comply with legal obligations, prevent fraud, collect any fees owed, assist with any investigations and enforce our User Agreement. If data can't be deleted for any of these reasons, it will be retained only for the time necessary to resolve a specific issue, or detect, prevent, mitigate or investigate fraudulent or illegal activities.

If you simply want to stop selling, you don't have to close your eBay account. You can just remove your automatic payment method, and cancel any selling tool subscriptions.

Was this article helpful for you?
Related Help topics