2 min article

Cancel a transaction

If you can’t complete a sale with a buyer – for example, the item is damaged, or you have fewer items in stock than you thought – you can cancel the transaction.

If at all possible, try to avoid cancelling a transaction because you don't have the item to send – it's considered a transaction defect and may affect your seller performance level. The buyer will still be able to leave you negative or neutral Feedback about the transaction.

Cancel a transaction

You can cancel a transaction as long as:

  • You haven't sent the item yet
  • The buyer hasn't asked us to step in and help because they didn't receive the item
  • You haven't opened an unpaid item case

You can cancel a transaction by selecting the button below. After you cancel, we'll let the buyer know. If they've already paid, they'll get a refund.

Cancel a transaction

You can also cancel a transaction from Seller Hub, see the instructions below to find out how.

How to cancel a transaction in Seller Hub

  1. In Seller Hub, go to Orders - opens in new window or tab, or in My eBay, go to Sold - opens in new window or tab.
  2. Find the transaction you want to cancel, and from More actions, select Cancel this order.
  3. Choose a reason for the cancellation and then select Continue to finish.

Tip
You can cancel a transaction up to 30 days after a sale, even if your buyer has already paid.

What happens after you cancel a transaction

If the buyer paid using PayPal, a full refund will be issued automatically.

If the buyer used another payment method, they'll be asked to confirm that they received their refund before the cancellation is complete.

Once the buyer has been refunded, you'll receive a final value fee credit.

If you'd like, you can learn more about how refunds work.

Buyer-requested cancellations

If a buyer asks you to cancel an order, they'll need to send you a cancellation request.

Once you receive their request, you’ll have 3 days to approve or decline it. If you approve it and the buyer has already paid for the item, you have 10 days to refund them. If you haven't refunded them within 10 days, they can file a claim through eBay Money Back Guarantee.

When you refund a buyer after accepting their request to cancel a transaction, we'll automatically relist your item for you. If you don’t want your item to be relisted, simply uncheck the Relist item after cancellation box when issuing the refund.

When a buyer cancels a transaction, they can't leave negative or neutral Feedback or low detailed seller ratings for you.

Getting a final value fee credit

To receive a final value fee credit, the cancellation must be completed. If the buyer had already paid using PayPal, the refund is complete when their account is refunded. If they'd paid using any other method, the refund will be considered complete when they confirm they’ve received their money back.

We'll credit the final value fee to your account 7 to 10 days after the cancellation request is complete. Learn more about final value fee credits.

If you cancel a transaction, it is considered a transaction defect and could affect your seller performance level. However, a buyer-requested cancellation does not affect your seller performance.

Was this article helpful for you?

Related Help topics