2 min article

Relisting items

If an item you list on eBay doesn't sell, we can automatically relist it for you to get it back in front of buyers.

Your options for automatic relisting depend on the listing format and the listing tool you use.

You can also relist your item manually if you need to. For example, if you ended your listing early for some reason but now you want to put it back up on eBay.

When an item is relisted, either automatically or manually, it can take a few hours before it appears on the site.

It's generally free to relist items, but some limits and exclusions apply. A final value fee applies when your item sells. For full details of eBay fees, see:

Automatic relists and renewals

Auction-style listings

If you select the auto-relist option (if available) when you create your listing:

  • Auctions with a duration of 5 days or more will be automatically relisted up to 8 times.
  • Auctions with a duration of 1 or 3 days will be automatically relisted up to 8 times as a 7-day listing if your item doesn't sell. We'll send you an email each time we relist it.

Automatic relisting is available for most categories, but there are some exclusions (see below). If your item doesn't sell after 8 relists, it will appear in your unsold items - opens in new window or tab.

Categories excluded from automatic relisting

Items in some categories can't be relisted automatically, including:

  • Cars, Bikes, Boats > vehicle categories
  • Business > Websites & Businesses for Sale
  • Home & Garden > Real Estate
  • Services
  • Tickets, Travel > Flights
  • Tickets, Travel > Tickets
  • Tickets, Travel > Travel
  • Tickets, Travel > Vouchers, Gift Certificates

See our category pricing list (PDF) - opens in new window or tab for full details.

Monthly renewals of fixed price listings

Fixed price listings are set to Good 'Til Cancelled duration by default. This means your listing will renew automatically every month until it sells or you end it.

Manual relisting

In some circumstances, you might need to manually relist your item. For example, if you ended your listing early, or if the auto-relist option wasn't selected for your auction-style listing.

Here's how to manually relist an item:

Tip
Keep in mind that fees for any listing features you've chosen will apply when an item is relisted manually.

How to remove automatic relisting from auction-style listings

Quick listing tool

If you used the quick listing tool to list your item, you'll need to end your listing if you don't want to relist it.

If you want to control whether your item will be relisted automatically or not, use the business tool or new listing tool when creating new listings.

Business tool

  1. Find your item in Active listings - opens in new window or tab.
  2. Select the drop-down arrow beside your item and then Revise.
  3. Clear the box beside Automatically relist this item up to 8 times if it doesn't sell.
  4. Save your changes.

New listing tool

  1. Select Edit all options beside Pricing
  2. Select Auto relist.
  3. Select On or Off.
  4. Select Done.

Auction-style listings may be automatically relisted up to 8 times. Fixed price listings are "Good 'Til Cancelled".

Was this article helpful for you?

Related Help topics